Day 14 (of 188) anxiety awareness needs to continue

Day 14 (of 188) anxiety awareness needs to continue

Probably not much of a surprise, but while catching a @globalbc news report on teachers returning to school by @Geoff_Hastings . It might have been a ‘throwaway line’ in his report: http://t.co/xvawSGkwnS
But ‘forget anxiety’… I stopped and rewound it several times (love dvr/pvr) and thought “maybe it was just meant to ‘stop being anxious about the job action’ or something similar….but it reinforced my belief that anxiety is still not fully understood.

Do I still get anxious about day one of school? Sure – butterflies in the stomach every time. But I can regulate. I don’t “have anxiety”. But I know many who do – and the key difference that I see is around the terms “won’t vs can’t”. It’s behavioural if I won’t get ready to go and face my fears; it’s very different when you “can’t”.

So “forget anxiety”?

Nope: https://technolandy.wordpress.com/2014/02/20/day-110-of-184-anxiety-107-a-blunt-approach-to-anxiety/ (my blog/rant from last year that I am working on expanding) which includes a clip (courtesy of Warner Brothers) that my son said was one of the best representation of what General Anxiety feels/looks like that he’s seen….

“Forget anxiety”? Nope. It’s a big enough issue-of-concern at my school that it’s one of our school goals (tied in with Self-Regulation and Physical Literacy) because it’s not something you can “just get over” and minimizing anxiety just feeds the beast that it is. And it’s not a ‘take a pill’ or ‘two week intervention’ – it is “identified in grade four for success in grade 10”. Don’t forget it – name it, understand it, and take it on.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

