Day 10 (of 188) twitter as/for pro-d

Day 10 (of 188) twitter as/for pro-d

Today I had the opportunity to reflect on how/why I use twitter daily with my PVP colleagues in #83learns – despite the BC Teachers strike, our scheduled professional development day went ahead.

I started with the quote I keep hearing: how twitter is the most powerful pro-d tool available!

IMG_0509.PNG

I also admitted that twitter can be as effective as you want it to be: whether lurking (reading) chats & links or getting involved in discussions & chats – it can get quite ….addictive? Involved? Overwhelming? Amazing? It’s not something that can be put into a single word (but 140 characters….!!)

I then shared some ‘starting points’ and had such a hard time figuring out who to recommend – but I left myself as a ‘local’ person to follow because my PLN is just too amazing (I hate Follow Fridays because it’s so hard to limit ‘who to follow!)

IMG_0510.PNG

I also shared how to lurk (and then join in) on a #chat – and again wanted to underwhelm my newbie colleagues – so I shared some that I hoped would be good starting points for them (and then shared out an amazing #nbtchat from last night to model how the conversations flow….but it’s hard to really capture how amazing the discussion-journeys can get!)

IMG_0511.PNG

Got some positive feedback at the end of the session (which went longer than I thought it would as some good questions were being asked ) including a couple of asynchronous ‘thanks’ later I to the evening. And then appropriately enough, via twitter I received the perfect image that captures my feeling about Twitter & Education:

IMG_0508.JPG

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 10 (of 188) twitter as/for pro-d

  1. silkeyardley says:

    Hi Ian. I heard your presentation was great! Good for you to share this information!!

    Silke

Leave a Reply

