Day 4 (of 188) video messages to learning community

Day 4 (of 188) video messages to learning community

This week marks my third year of doing a ‘weekly video message’ to my learning community. I got the idea ‘at a conference’ where a presenter was sharing this idea that one of their colleagues was trying.

I like it. And here is a sample: http://www.sor.sd83.bc.ca/Sept%206.mp4 or http://www.sor.sd83.bc.ca/Sept%206.m4v

It gets my face out to be seen so that when parents come to the school, they know what I look like (not a huge deal when the staff is mostly female, but…)

It allows me to share what has happened (I try to have a photo or video of something that happened in the school the previous week as my backdrop) and what is coming up (like photo day -which is currently being rescheduled).

I try to keep it short – a minute is my goal (we do 12-15 minute ‘month-in-review’ videos at our monthly reflection assemblies) and ‘to the point’.

Sometimes it can be tricky to link it on a ‘standardized website’ (but that’s a different blog: if our schools are all unique why is it encouraged to have our websites look the same?) and sometimes it can stream automatically, sometimes a link to download…but there are always ways!

Quick and easy video is one of the benefits of mobile technology and education – give it a try with your learning community!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

