Day 2 (of 188) the wait/weight as inspired by @r0bbier0berts0n @tompetty

Day 2 (of 188) the wait/weight as inspired by @r0bbier0berts0n @tompetty

[This year I pledged to myself that my ‘blog-a-day-for-each-day-of-learning’ would be different than last year. Last year it was a traditional “diary entry” and too much of the same thing…
This year I will include quotes that represent the day, pictures, and even (as today) music]

For whatever reason, on our second day of the school year under a strike, two songs kept rolling through my head while I was working in my office: the song The Weight ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjCw3-YTffo) by The Band & Tom Petty’s “The Waiting” ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uMyCa35_mOg ) Both songs resonated with me as a principal ‘waiting’ for school year to begin to start up and the ‘weight’ being felt by all members of the learning community while it doesn’t.

There is great deal of pressure on all sides during this round of contract negotiations in BC with angst being felt by everyone and as principal of the learning community there is nothing I would like more than to take the weight off of everyone and ‘put the load right on me’. But as much as I would like to, it isn’t that time yet (though I will do my best to reduce anxiety where I can as is our learning community’s key goal) which is why Tom Petty’s lyrics connected me with ‘the waiting is the hardest part’…for all of us.

Read more: http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Weight
and http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Waiting_(song)

The Weight Lyrics:

I pulled into Nazareth, I was feelin’ about half past dead
I just need some place where I can lay my head
“Hey, mister, can you tell me where a man might find a bed?”
He just grinned and shook my hand and, “No”, was all he said
Take a load off Anny
Take a load for free
Take a load off Anny
And you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)
I picked up my bag and I went lookin’ for a place to hide
When I saw Carmen and the Devil walkin’ side by side
And I said, “Hey, Carmen, come on, would you like to go downtown?”
And she said, “Well, I gotta go but my friend can stick around”
And take a load off Anny
Take a load for free
Take a load off Anny
And you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)
Go down, Miss Moses, there ain’t nothin’ that you can say
‘Cause just ol’ Luke and Luke’s waitin’ on the Judgment Day
“Well, now Luke, my friend, what about young Anna Lee?”
He said, “Do me a favor, son, won’t you stay an’ keep Anna Lee company?”
Take a load off Anny
Take a load for free
Take a load off Anny
And you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)
Crazy Chester followed me and he caught me in the fog
He said, “I will fix your rags, if you’ll take Jack, my dog”
I said, “Wait a minute, Chester, you know I’m a peaceful man”
He said, “That’s okay, boy, won’t you feed him when you can?”
Take a load off Anny
Take a load for free
Take a load off Anny
And you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)
Catch a Cannonball, now, to take me down the line
My, my bag is sinkin’ low and I do believe it’s time
To get back to Miss Fanny, you know she’s the only one
Who sent me here with her regards for everyone
Take a load off Anny
Take a load for free
Take a load off Anny
And you put the load right on me
(You put the load right on me)

The Waiting Lyrics:

Oh baby don’t it feel like heaven right now
Don’t it feel like something from a dream
Yeah I’ve never known nothing quite like this
Don’t it feel like tonight might never be again
We know better than to try and pretend
Baby no one could have ever told me ’bout this

[Chorus]
The waiting is the hardest part
Every day you see one more card
You take it on faith, you take it to the heart
The waiting is the hardest part

Well yeah I might have chased a couple of women around
All it ever got me was down
Then there were those that made me feel good
But never as good as I feel right now
Baby you’re the only one that’s ever known how
To make me want to live like I want to live now

[Chorus]

Don’t let it kill you baby, don’t let it get to you
Don’t let ’em kill you baby, don’t let ’em get to you
I’ll be your breathing heart, I’ll be your crying fool
Don’t let this go to far, don’t let it get to you

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

