SOL 1 – preparing for a big week at #shortc 2014

SOL 1 – preparing for a big week

Every year for the past 36 years, our provincial Principal/Vice Principal Association (@bcpvpa) in association with the Department of Education at UBC (of which I am a proud Alumni & Big Block recipient) hosts ShortCourse. A week long intensive professional development bootcamp. With presentations from a range of educational leaders from around the province, ShortCourse is a highlight event for almost every PVP in our province!

On Sunday night, those of us as table facilitators (my second opportunity) get together to focus ourselves and get things ready for the week!

It is about making connections.
It’s about thinking education.
It’s about talking about learning.
It’s about research – aka stealing other peoples great ideas!

I really appreciate the opportunity to expand my Professional Learning Network with face-to-face networking (including seeing one of my table cohort from last year when I did my first table facilitation! Even better has been meeting gone of my twitter PLNers in my table group this year – shoutout to @stevemacg

Yet I still found myself using twitter as I got sucked into a twitter chat with one of my favourite groups: #nbtchat (no box thinking out) that had a Wizard of Oz theme! And even when I went for a campus walk I found myself sucked into a fabulous chat with #caedchat and a side conversation about plants & anxiety (it’s great how often these sidebar discussions get going!)

Which is why I am hoping to “edcamp it” at #shortc this year: using the ‘back channel’ to get conversations going that can run in real-time and asynchronously!

In the meantime I’ve got a bunch of books (both real and ePub) that I’m getting ready to share with my group (sometimes the teacher-librarian in me roars out) including #tlap & works by @kenoc7

It is a fabulous time to be in education!!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

