Day 188 (of 184) starting to think ‘next year’

Day 188 (of 184) starting to think ‘next year’

With a weird end (perhaps the weirdest end) to the BC school year, I’m starting to shift my thinking more and more to ‘next year’.

To end this year I heard and saw many ‘making the best of things’ with pot-lucks, picnics, coffee chats, coffee-shop interviews and more to ‘normalize things’. But really, the end of the year has arrived with a whimper…..but next year…!

I’ve been able to add and do some more plotting around Recreational Mathematics – an approach I tried this year to take the anxiety out of math with some success – but I know it can be better and a twitter joke nailed it home: There are 10 types of ppl in this world. Those who understand binary, and those who don’t. – I really want my learns to be able to do some ‘translation’ and see that binary is made up of 0s and 1s….get it? Because there is so much more to math than + – x /

We are already plotting how to extend and expand our morning Physical Literacy programs and have one of our key leader-teachers do some activities with ‘my’ class next year while I do some #geniushour / wonderwall activities with her class. I love that idea and another teacher and I are thinking of a blended ‘long’ physical activity time to enable both classes to focus on play – specifically ‘deep play’ which takes 45 minutes ‘without threat of cessation of activity (by a bell etc) ‘. We saw some neat group and solo activities go on and we want to see what happens if we take it further!

SOLEs will continue to be enhanced to have students take greater ownership of their learning and exploration of Science and Social Studies (which have more in common than what most scientists would like to admit….sorry, humanities guy taking a dig at some science friends who didn’t like my arguments once-upon-a-time-ago!)

*****

SUMMER doesn’t mean STOP

Still doing some professional growth as I will be attending the @BCPVPA Annual ShortCourse for new (primarily) PVPs as a facilitator – had a great time last year and am excited to see some familiar and new faces at UBC in a few short days!

I notice that some of my favourite twitter chats (#nbtchat #complitchat #arkedchat) are still going on for a Summer Learning series and I was thrilled with how involved and engaged people were even though we are at ‘the end’ of our school year…

Even as my 184 Days of Learning Blog comes to an end – at day 188, because even professional development days include great learning opportunities, I am looking for ways to continue…not every day, but likely ‘as learning happens’ where I’ll be able to do some actual editing before posting!

Still a chance of an “83 in the shade” edcamp if/when BC Teachers reach an agreement and a few chances of sneaking into a few other summer sessions (Physical Literacy and Anxiety being key for me) and getting ready to share some work from this year with educators at conferences next year!

Busy busy busy busy….summers off?

And with that my blogging each day-of-learning winds down!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

