Day 178 (of 188) it’s a video world to support feedback & reflection

Day 178 (of 188) it’s a video world to support feedback & reflection

I was watching my daughter at swim practice when I noticed her principal (who coaches some of the older kids) take out his cell phone, take a 15 second video, then meet the kid and talk about their swimming style (first month having a child in a swim team, forgive my ignorance of appropriate terminology) while showing them what he was talking about.

Thank goodness it’s not just me (once upon a time I was ‘the’ guy going up to a presentation and taking videos and photos of key moments. Now I see a variety of devices being used to help reinforce learning!)

Reluctant to take & use videos? Time to start trying it out:

They are the cornerstone of the eportfolios we are piloting instead of report cards – parents have been very happy seeing & hearing their child learning – or pointing out that they play guitar ‘much better at home’ and then being challenged to ‘replace the video with an example from home’.

They helped us separate 3rd and 4th at our recent Track & Field 100 yard sprint. Should say we had to review the tape a couple of times…and I learned 8 years ago that even the presence of a video camera on the finish line stopped arguments before they began.

I also used it while coaching football – highlighting technique and reinforcing the descriptive feedback I use (I don’t say “that was an A+ block” or “that pass rush was 76%”. But we do look and see if we are all moving at the same time and if our hands and feet are in the right place at the right time.

It allows parents to see me before they meet me: I have a weekly video message on my website – ie http://www.sor.sd83.bc.ca/June%2016.mov

Even better is our ‘month in review’ video made up of the video clips I get when I sneak around the school and take clips, and even better when the staff sends me videos and pictures, and better still when students create content as well! Sadly they are big videos to stream, so online versions are ‘clunky’ (at http://www.sor.sd83.bc.ca ) and BCs foipop/fippa rules make me nervous to post onto an external video host for the web.

I won’t even get into the student content being generated by kids, but I’m proud of my 4/5 students who: created special effects to make a ghost movie, created a script and filmed a 20 minute ‘feature film’, and now I’m getting excited as my own son wants to start to explore creating content for a YouTube channel. Good to have summer plans!

I’ve always been a fan of using videos with my learning community and I’m looking forward to continuing to do more and more with video integrated with education.

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

