Day 169 (of 184) never alone

Day 169 (of 184) never alone

Even on week two of rotating job action I wasn’t ‘alone in my building’. And I don’t just mean some positive conversations as teachers were setting up a sun shelter and sharing sun screen. BC job action continues (a recent news article: http://www.vancouversun.com/sides+close+deal+teachers+dispute/9901069/story.html ) but I wasn’t alone.

Via twitter I checked in on what was happening on the Apple WWDC and then joined in on the live keynote to see how my favourite OS is going to soon become my even favouriter one! 5gb emails! Instant synch (I guess the current moment or two is too long…) and then shared what I was seeing with a couple of colleagues whose rotating day of closure is later in the week.

I used email to start conversations that continued on the phone about: another educational leader wanting to pilot eportfolios in his school (it was nice to get some more specific questions that went deeper than my earlier blogs [and a forthcoming update] can offer); a second conversation confirmed our music schedule for next year….when we both had time for a good conversation about the topic and not rushing a decision.

I then took some time to collaborate and give some thoughts on a presentation for an interview later this week. Always tough to make the decision to change districts and I appreciated the questions about going to a new district that he had.

A couple of texts about extra curricular sports and track and field setup for tomorrow allowed me to reflect on the importance of asynchronous communication.

After finding some news updates and book recommendations via twitter it is safe to say:

When you have tech an a strong Professional Learning Network, even when you’re the only person in the building, you’re never really alone!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

