Day 156 (of 184) when things get busy….

Day 156 (of 184) when things get busy….

With ‘at home’ activities picking up (basketball, soccer, swimming, etc)

With ‘at school’ activities picking up (cross country run, track & field, human resource ‘stuff’, school goals due, PAC elections, etc)

It is very easy to get overwhelmed and do too much.

That is why I was especially thankful for a well timed “breathing break” that my school takes (one to start the day, one after the transition from lunch to learning) and a reminder that it’s not just me feeling ‘busy’.

So I thought about some of the strategies I’ve been using lately to slow things down:

breathing breaks -in addition to the two for our whole school; each classroom has a MindUp chime and now is good time to use it a few ‘extra times’.

boredom breaks -we easily get going on too many things and too many projects overlapping – I’m setting a random timer on my phone to bring the class to a stop and some ‘do nothing’ time. I’ve tried it on and off, and it has been more successful than I first thought.

reading -good goal to read for 30 minutes each day, and I know that a lot of families (including my own) are getting home just in time for bedtime (or sometimes carrying to bed one of the kids who may or may not already be asleep)

walks -part of our school physical literacy goal includes whole-school walk/run times – I may put more of an emphasis on the walking point and may even model the connection to:

music -good time to introduce some classics to the class/school – that goes from Beethoven and Mozart to Clapton and Petty – different beats of music engage the brain differently (part of an action-research project I was working on around ‘sounds’)

And remembering that not everybody self regulates in the same way. What works for one, may not work for all (just as the learner staring out of a window may be dis-engaged OR may be in deep thought/processing).

When things get busy, I am trying to model other ways to slow. things. down.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

