Day 152 (of 184) taking a compliment

Day 152 (of 184) taking a compliment

Sometimes I have to remind myself “just take the compliment”. It’s not something I am good at. I love it when our school gets attention, I’m proud when my staff gets public displays of affection/acknowledgement, but I cringe when I see my name or photo in the newspaper.
Education is always a roller coaster of feedback – very easily will we get praise and criticism for doing the same ‘thing’. What one parent/student loves, another is frustrated by.
And then I saw a picture…
Screen Shot 2014-05-05 at 7.19.03 PM
NOT that I’m claiming to be a “true genius” BUT I do appreciate the imagery in terms of “compliments being distractions”. I know there is still a lot of work to be done, and a lot that I can do better, but I can’t/won’t do it on my own. And I won’t allow myself to get distracted by ego-boosters.
Which is part of the reason that I am taking advantage of the community newspaper as a means to reach out to our entire learning community: our newsletters only reach our parents; our website gets viewed by a wider variety; our school twitter feed has a great mix of our greater learning community (well beyond our school district even) but I know our newspaper gets read by a larger audience. And I appreciate how it has helped us share out our work on:
eportfolios
self-regulation (with a focus on anxiety)
technologization (specifically bringing in iPads as a model of mobile devices and encouraging BYOD practices)
All three of these ‘main goal areas’ have their fans and their detractors. I appreciate the debate and discussion that has come from this ‘publicity’. It is the discussions about the topics that helps me feel more confident in what we are doing; I also don’t have all the answers, and love having a Professional Learning Network that is there to assist with their experiences & opinions as well (the smartest person in the PLN is the PLN).
Yet the key is that there is no ‘one’ person making everything work – there are teachers who are taking the lead in many different areas and helping ‘us’ all become ‘better’. But as principal, I know that I’m often the ‘gatekeeper’ that people will send ‘compliments and criticism’ to.
It’s not easy, but I am working hard on “taking compliments” that come in. Then I do what I do much better: genuinely thanking the complimenter, and acknowledging the members of the learning community who are doing so much work to make our school such an amazing place to be part of; because being part of an amazing learning community means that you will be dealing with compliments…..just don’t be distracted by them!
About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

