Day 122 (of 184) 2/3 of the way through 184 days of learning blog

Day 122 (of 184) 2/3 of the way through 184 days of learning blog

After a very busy monday at school, I am taking some time to do some reflection – Three highlights of my ‘days of learning’ blog so far.

@adamfgoldberg responded to a tweet & read a blog & shared it with his writing team since I was making comparisons with todays teaching world with that from the 198something – much as his show The Goldbergs does! One of my rants is that I don’t want the classrooms my kids (the students I teach and my own personal children) to be the same classrooms that I learned from in the 80s. Considering we are closer to 2040 than 1980….I want to stand on the shoulders of the educational experts who did great work, and continue their efforts – not duplicate their work

Anxiety – one of my more ‘popular’ and talked about tweets was about this topic: Day 110 (of 184) Anxiety 107 (a blunt approach to anxiety) wp.me/p278vp-cf Having long been working with students-with-anxiety, my passion has been heightened as my own son struggles with General Anxiety Disorder and I became more aware of the number of misunderstandings about anxiety that there really is in the education world.

The @chriswrejr bump benefited my blog about worksheets 😉 Day 103 (of 184) Stupid Worksheets (wurkt fer me?) wp.me/p278vp-c1 giving me one of my ‘best days of viewings’ and modelled how important a Professional Learning Network can be to share thoughts and have amazing discussions! And how much ‘more’ of an audience some educators can get as blogs/tweets/etc get forwarded into ‘new’ virtual learning communities and asynchronous discussions continue….

And in the future….

Eportfolios are going to be a key focus for myself and the learning community that I am part of. This term marks our ‘changeover’ away from traditional Report Cards (and their associated letter grades and misused %s) and shift towards communicating student learning through eportfolios and their more visual/audio methods that the will permit to share what our students are actually doing. I can’t help but highlight the work done and support I have received from my PLN including @k_timms who is doing similar work (different tool) at his school, and @darcymullin who (along with othes) has provided positive support and great ideas – including some direction which lead us to work with a localish Okanagan company: @freshgrade But more on that to follow!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

