Day 116 (of 184) #geniushour expansion in #83learns – and beyond?

Day 116 (of 184) #geniushour expansion in #83learns – and beyond?

For a bunch of years I’ve been playing around with some instructional ‘practice’ that has finally emerged as geniushour.

GH was one of the first ‘crazy Landy things’ I brought into my school and our school district. As has happened each year, the students took to it …. with trepidation at first, and enthusiasm that has brought parents on board as well.

Last year I heard from moms “first time my son liked coming to school”. This year a student who was sick for four days of the week came in for GH (even though he probably shoulda stayed home).

This week I’ve encountered two great ‘continuation/extension/enhancements) to what I started. And I know I wasn’t first and certainly not the only one, but I LOVE it when GH method plod sneaks into more and more learning communities.

First: the discovery of “wonder wall Wednesday” via my G4 teacher (@msmcdsclass) finding http://www.geniushour.com/2013/10/06/a-constructivist-take-on-genius-hour-using-wonder-wall/
And I love the concept of an introduction to the concept that appears much better planned out than the way I started – especially as we work with many students who have actual ‘choice’ for the first time in their lives (not counting choosing an after school activity between soccer dance music or karate). Proudly, I am happiest that it’s not just me seeing the benefits of the methodology, and instead I get to reap the rewards of working with someone who is taking a ‘fresh look’ at what I going on!

Secondly was a discussion with a colleague on the other side of the district who is also running with the program. But with slightly older leaners. Learners who are finding (for some for the first time) a personal connection to school. 3 boys tore apart an engine and reassembled it so it works. Another who made a ski documentary that rivals Warren Miller (okay….maybe not yet). Three girls forging their own silver ‘grad’ rings. The limits are….well, there are no limits other than passion.

I think next we need a geniushour symposium so that like minded learners can get together and snoop and steal ideas from others (@sugatam calls this research as I’ve ‘researched’ his Self Organized Learning Environments) in a larger environment.

Looking forward to seeing (and being part of) what’s next in our expanding geniushour learning community!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 116 (of 184) #geniushour expansion in #83learns – and beyond?

  1. Pingback: Day 180 (of 184) getting ready for #canflip14 | technolandy

Leave a Reply

