Day 109 (of 184) Are we following recipes or creating them?

Day 109 (of 184) Are we following recipes or creating them?

This was the question posed to me (via radio) on my commute home. And in education I see there being a time we as educators (and for our learners) to be doing a bit of each. At times following a path already laid out by experts that have worked their way through the field before, and then at other times, foraging new paths.

But I still see a strong connection to passions….but not necessarily forged in areas of expertise. While my training is a specialization in language arts (and being a teacher librarian) many of my best forays into differentiation, learning-outcome focused varied assessments using only descriptive feedback (another teacher and I challenged each other) and creating new pathways were grounded in numeracy (and my proudly interesting Recreational Mathematics). While I should’ve been more comfortable with one key subject, it was another that I felt ‘more free’ to mix around.

In the kitchen, I have long perfected my pizza dough recipe – learning it from my mom but mastering and improving it. In this realm I happily create and play with the recipe.

Ask me to bake a cake and I follow the recipe on the box line by line. From scratch? This is a time I go to the textbook.

Thank goodness Im not a baker – though if I did, I assume (had I had the passion) I’d probably have a few recipes understood well enough to start ….. disrupting the preset plan.

And while once upon a time I liked the use of an up to date textbook (I have a double major linking English with History) times have changed and so have I.

Trying something new, like quantum geography or French cuisine, follow a guidebook to start. Once you can manipulate chaos theory or whip up a coq au vin after a staff meeting day….time to make your own recipes!

Don’t be afraid to experiment and take some chances in the school day. Sometimes a fried egg becomes scrambled eggs, sometimes an omelet. Depends what you put into it!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

