Day 108 (of 184) When does a me problem become a we problem

Day 108 (of 184) When does a me problem become a we problem

My daughter gets it.

Sort of. No, mostly.

She was ranting today that 20 out of 28 in her math class are getting I-Letters (incomplete or in-progress). But the lessons are continuing. And piling up on some kids. Kids who are starting to give up…. And it’s a small minority who are truly ready to move on. A minority that would prefer to help others understand rather than move on.

As my daughter said….even kids that understand newer lessons can’t complete the related assessment until the previous one gets ‘done’. Some kids are flying through percentages but because they didn’t/don’t understand Pythagorean relationships, they can’t ‘finish’ the former until the latter is ‘caught up with’.

My daughter stated it was a feedback loop issue (she’s been listening maybe a tad too closely to my own rants) and if over half the class didn’t understand a concept, she would stop and reteach.

Again, as she put it: it’s one thing if one or two students are struggling, but when it’s the majority of the class…

Sometimes it’s important to take a read of the class and stop. Sometimes redo. Sometimes cancel. I’ve done both. I’ll probably do both again.

But I’m really proud that my daughter was able to recognize the importance of ‘understanding learning’ vs just completing done tasks to be able to ‘move on’. Also how the feedback loop can be a powerful tool – but only when it is being used to guide ‘next steps’.

Glad it’s not just me!
me problem become a we problem

My daughter gets it.

Sort of. No, mostly.

She was ranting today that 20 out of 28 in her math class are getting I-Letters (incomplete or in-progress). But the lessons are continuing. And piling up on some kids. Kids who are starting to give up…. And it’s a small minority who are truly ready to move on. A minority that would prefer to help others understand rather than move on.

As my daughter said….even kids that understand newer lessons can’t complete the related assessment until the previous one gets ‘done’. Some kids are flying through percentages but because they didn’t/don’t understand Pythagorean relationships, they can’t ‘finish’ the former until the latter is ‘caught up with’.

My daughter stated it was a feedback loop issue (she’s been listening maybe a tad too closely to my own rants) and if over half the class didn’t understand a concept, she would stop and reteach.

Again, as she put it: it’s one thing if one or two students are struggling, but when it’s the majority of the class…

Sometimes it’s important to take a read of the class and stop. Sometimes redo. Sometimes cancel. I’ve done both. I’ll probably do both again.

But I’m really proud that my daughter was able to recognize the importance of ‘understanding learning’ vs just completing done tasks to be able to ‘move on’. Also how the feedback loop can be a powerful tool – but only when it is being used to guide ‘next steps’.

Glad it’s not just me!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

