Day 93 (of 184) family literacy day (unplug & play week in #83learns )

Day 93 (of 184) family literacy day (unplug & play week)

I joke about unplug & play week in our district by asking if battery power is still okay.

It’s mainly because I walk in two worlds:

Part of me (hey you can’t spell librarian without IAN) is a strong believer in consuming information and synthesizing it. Thinking about thinking. I support reading (at an independent level) to increase fluency, comprehension and connectivity. This translates into my numeracy approach where I want students to be fluent in numbers (an more importantly mathematical thinking) so that it becomes easier to enter the second works in which I tread:

The TECHNOlandy part of me strongly advocates using tech tools (and strategies an approaches) to create content. It also drives my discussions with learners of all ages: tool or toy. Tools (whether technological or self-regulatory or ‘old-school’) help learning occur – when they are toys (angry birds or bouncy chair races or paper airplanes) they are distracting from learning.

The question posed on twitter earlier today that made me synthesize my educational purpose was: which is a better product of education/learning writing about what you read or writing something that others read…

And I don’t have an answer.

I know I support ebooks and the library on my iPhone (my paperback on which I’m reading a history of video games) and an iPad mini (my hardcover) on which I am reading Malcolm Gladwell. But on both devices I am balancing the consuming & creating content by twittering and blogging. Also multimedia-ing with keynotes and movies. And yes the occasional angry birds (Star Wars theme) game along the way.

I think I value our ‘unplug & play’ week because it very much has me reflecting on ‘why’ I do the things I am doing in my learning community. And even though at times I may be ‘plugged in’ I will also be focusing on play – because that’s what happens when you ‘master’ how letters words and numbers work: you can play with them and create such wonders!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

