Day 92 (of 184) half way mark of reflecting on 184 days of learning

Day 92 (of 184) half way mark of reflecting on 184 days of learning

Firstly it’s tough.

Secondly depth is difficult – by going with a post-a-day, it is sometimes hard to edit (which has even more challenges with some very busy days) and reflect on the reflections (quality vs quantity balance).

But……(and as one of my history professors pointed out in his first assignment of the year, everything before this word loses significance and instead the focus goes to what is next)……

It’s been very rewarding as a means to communicate the development of some of our ‘innovative’ learnings I am working with at my school including:
#geniushour
SOLEs (Sugata Mitra’s Self Organized Learning Environments)
shifting away from reporting student achievement through report cards to instead communicating student learning through portfolios
self-regulation (our school goal)

Blogging has been a very positive way to reflect and even make connections (including a personal highlight by getting a shoutout by TVs Goldbergs creator @adamfgoldberg). I have been honoured by some great comments and even better connections via this tool.

I have learned a lot by not quitting the blog (and I admit there have been times I’ve considered doing just that) and persevering on. I admit it’s an activity I wouldn’t put my learners through because I still feel that my ‘journaling days’ were ended because of the forced nature of them during grade 3. It’s been a long recovery time. I don’t believe that ‘forced writing’ should be of the same type for the full year, but instead different opportunities should be introduced and explored.

I feel my own writing has continued to improve (and likewise my communication competency!) and I am looking forward to seeing what the next 92 days will bring!

…I sense maybe challenging my creativity competency as I kept wanting to link this post to the classic (sigh – dated according to my daughters) Bon Jovi classic Living On A Prayer ’cause whooah we’re half way there!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 92 (of 184) half way mark of reflecting on 184 days of learning

  1. darcymullin says:

    Ian, I am really enjoying your journey. I’m impressed at the depth of your posts considering you are writing every day. Good luck buddy! Keep up the hair metal references.

Leave a Reply

