Day 89 (of 184) cell phones in the classroom (and I’m not talking the students)

Day 89 (of 184) cell phones in the classroom (and I’m not talking the students)

Once upon a time I kept my phone in my pocket. But over the years that has changed. And as principal, I even encourage my staff to not be ashamed of their phones, but to instead put them to good use. For instance, my uses include

I tweet out class assignments (so that absent students, or parents, can ‘see’ what is happening in the classroom)
I text my director of instruction (amongst others to share highlights of the day) or email those that don’t text…..yet…
I get texts from my staff….which is possibly most important as it allows them to discreetly interrupt me if it is a teaching day; but also gets my attention wherever I may be in the building (or outside)
I document what goes on in the school – photos & videos make up our schools ‘month in review’ video
I am starting to use an app (Fresh Grade) to create portfolios for my learners
I use my ‘wheel of names’ to randomly choose participants/unvolunteers for class discussions/sharing
I access music to have in the background during our work sessions

And it can be connected to the class projector to access my documents, presentation and other resources I use to prepare and organize my lessons

Weird as it is (with smart phones being such a part of so many peoples lives), I feel that by modelling my use, I am still hoping to make the use of this technology ‘normalized’ within the school and classroom. But much like our work with our entire learning community, making sure that the technology is seen and used as a tool (good and helping enhance learning/teaching), not a toy (distracting from learning/teaching).

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

