Day 86 (of 184) blog challenge…

Challenge Accepted!

 I was very complimented by being named on the list of Jann Kwasnicki (@JKwasnicki) bloggers to take on this challenge! After a great winter visit with family I finally feel ready to take this on!

First the rules:

You have to post a picture of the Sunshine award in this blog post.

Image

Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.

Nominate 11 wonderful  bloggers for this award.

Write 11 questions for them to answer.

Let the bloggers you nominated know you have nominated them.

My 11 Random Facts

I was the first person from Lillooet to play university level football – mainly because our community was too small to have a football team. Still proud of my time at UBC with the Thunderbirds!

One of my summer jobs involved me working at a cemetery and yes that did include digging a grave……

I used to work for the Bridge-River Lillooet News as a ‘sports’ reporter (which meant I’d write about sports and everything else) 

Part of my inspiration to work for the BRLN was because ‘Ma’ Murray (google her if you don’t know who she is) was one of my neighbours and she would regularly of for walks in our neighbourhood “And that’s fer damshur!”

I almost got a radio station started in high school. Didn’t quite get ‘er done, but I’m happy to see that (finally) a community radio station got started and many of my friends have shows on it! Even contacted Jimmy Pattison about any ‘used parts’ I might be able to use.

I often get myself into ‘weird situations’ such as when I challenged my class in Lumby to some contest and ended up having to bike the 30kms from my home to school, or when I ended up wearing orange everyday for two and a half months in Prince George… every. day. At least my principal at the time got me my infamous ‘orange duty coat’ because of that!

I have an impressive comic collection (and still believe comics are key to literacy) focused on Disneys Donald Duck & Uncle Scrooge. 

I listen to Howard Stern for the interviews. Really. And Colin Cowherd for his perspectives on sports connecting to the world – including some powerful comments on education.

My love for the Seattle Seahawks and Seattle Mariners and Vancouver Canucks clearly illustrates my west coast bias for sports (& the fact that my grandparents lived in Seattle and Vancouver) and is why I am desperate for any championship any time now….Go Hawks.

My favourite food is pizza and I have been making my dough from scratch since I was 12 years old.

I have worked in a variety of learning communities mainly because I like to ‘go where the work is interesting’ but also because I was lucky enough to eat lunch with Andy Hargreaves (@HargreavesBC) and had an inspiring discussion about the importance of ‘change’ and movement for educators.

11 Questions from Jann

What is the word that would be most prominent in a World describing you? Innovative – I have always been willing to try new things – I’ve been referred to as an early-adopter (especially around technology) – as I benefitted as a learner myself when my father brought our first computer to the house.

Dog, cat or other? Cat – because I had one growing up. But currently a no-pet household.

What’s something that can make a school day great for you? When a student suddenly ‘gets it’ and does great things – most notably a reluctant learner sharing (and showing off) some writing he did thanks to his team (scribes).

Favourite kid’s book: Where the Wild Things Are. Love the blend of language and  mathematics in it and the allowance for imagination of what happens between the pages.

Before blogging I: Reflect. Right now I am challenging myself with blogging about my 184 days of learning – something I learned (or confirmed) from each day. 

My most influential teacher was: my dad – though he was never my teacher nor my principal (he moved to the elementary school when I went to secondary) his willingness (personal mission) to shift education and connect with all learners inspired me and continues to influence my decisions.

What’s something that would be challenging, maybe scary, but you’d like to try anyway: establishing an education-focused radioshow/podcast. I love what twitter allows, but sometimes wish there was more of a ‘voice’ (literal and figurative) to the changes in education

If you could have a super power what would it be? This one is easy since my son regularly asks me about it – and I always respond with ‘flying’. I’d love to be able to sweep through the air and not be dependent on an aircraft.

What do you love about social media? The asynchronousness of it – being able to check in when it fits your schedule and get absorbed in it when you have the time.

What scares you most about social media? How easily it is to fall into ‘flow’ and join a twitter chat and suddenly have an hour (or more) melt in mere seconds.

Favourite educational quote: I have this on my rotation of background slides for my phone to always make me remember it: Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.

 

My 11 Questions:

A moment that made you glad to be in education:

Favourite book from high school:

Desktop Laptop or Tablet:

I was inspired by:

My favourite part about waking up is:

The bestest gift you ever received:

Favourite mistake:

A time you were innovative/creative:

Currently in your play list:

 Math or Language Arts?

In 5 years….

Looking forward to this challenge continuing to learn a bit more about those blogs I follow (and introducing me to many other blogs at the same time!)

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

