Day 76 (of 184) is education art?

Day 76 (of 184) is Education Art?

Don’t answer too quickly. One of my ‘pocketbooks’ (the ones I keep on my iPhone for when I have some spare minutes – such as in between the Christmas concerts at two kids schools…) made an interesting observation.

Currently I am reading “Super Mario – how Nintendo conquered America” by Jeff Ryan. An interesting look at the roller coaster world of electronic games (of which I was an early adopter – at least of Atari – only my cousin had a NES). A lot of connections can be made between schools and the video game industry (feedback loops, clear visions, etc) but one statement hit me right between the eyes:

“An ongoing discussion amongst critics is whether or not video games can be considered art.” And I ponder(ed) whether or not education (teaching) is also an art – a connection my brain often reaches for.

Then the next line “Film critic Roger Ebert says no, that the freedom games give you overrules any possible message a creator could hope to deliver.” made me pause. And I replaced ‘games’ with ‘learning’.

Then I turned the page: “but the key objection (to games/learning being art) is interactivity: I watch a Kurosawa film, and observe a Dalí painting, but I take part in a Miyamoto game.”

So I reask my question: Is education and learning an art? And therefore something to interpret but not take part in, or something to interact with.

Sigh. Until today I liked referencing the ‘art of teaching’. Now I’ve opened a door I can’t go back out of. I want my teaching and the learning associated (and even my principaling) with it to be interactive. Where the learning community has as much a role (or more since it’s their experience) in ‘it’ as I do. No longer an ‘art’ to only be observed and commented on. But instead achieve interactivity and the ‘connections’ that come with that.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

