Day 73 (of 184) patience in discipline

Day 73 (of 184) patience

A frustrated youth came to my office. After he caused a disturbance in class. Then slammed the classroom door.

The teacher had texted the play by play, and I opted to wait to see if he would arrive in a timely manner.

Which he did.

Then I asked him if he needed to slam my door. He looked at me with a puzzled look. So I explained that I know he slammed his classroom door and if it wasn’t out of his system yet, he should slam mine too

He didn’t.

I then did something I didn’t do earlier in my career.

I waited.

He was still in a ‘zone of frustration’ and anything I was going to say would not be received. Yet.

So I have him time to let the tears stop. And the breathing to slow.

I allowed him to self-regulate – one of our school goals – before we talked about what caused the disturbance, what led up to the disturbance, and how he was going to make things right.

But too easily we try to address the problem too soon. And too often we are too upset to handle the situation in a calm manner.

So during this extra-anxious time of year, take some extra … time (as I always say – and it’s more appropriate now than ever – don’t cancel Christmas –> some things are hard to take back ‘in the moment’)

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

