Day 53 (of 184) reflections on creativity

Reflections on Creativity

We had four days (over the past 6 months) to meet as a district committee to provide information (thoughts and wishes and more) to the province.

Two reflective questions:
What did I get out of this as an individual educator
“I am enjoying better identifying some of the evolutions of creative thinking and letting students own their process”

What are next steps (in my classroom, in my school, in my district)
“I need to continue my exploration into ways to more effectively and affectively communicate student learning with a strong connection to the competencies (such as creativity) being shared”.

Reflecting on what I learned around encouraging creative thinking:
The importance of safe environments
Validating ‘failure’
Modelling unique connections (yoga/square dancing as mnemonics)
Creativity is not the artification of subjects
It is a different way of thinking/working/learning to encourage it in our learners
Fidgeting doesn’t always mean off-task, it may be a learner is on the verge of a breakthrough.
It isn’t universal in terms of being creative in all subject areas, nor in a common ‘time of day’, nor at a specific age/grade

Toughies to continue thinking about:
Difficulty of seeing creativity ‘in the moment’ and whether or not it can be reflected on.
Challenge of permitting creativity in a class connected to a final/provincial exam.

And then remembering:
Importance of failure – or specifically, documenting them – can give interesting things to look at…
Take the time to find ways to foster creative thinking

The roller coaster of creative growth (that I am working on) but some “I statements” as of today:

I have ideas about specific situations and problems.
I can share some of my own ideas.
I can’t explain where they come from. They just pop into my head.

To

I have creative ideas about specific situations or problems
I share my creative ideas.
I get creative ideas when focused on a specific topic

To

I know that I have creative ideas when faced with specific constraints of a situation or problem. I am more likely to get new ideas about things I already know a lot about.
I can talk about my creative ideas and the situations in which they were generated.
Given time, new ideas just pop into my head

To

I do some research into topics of interest so that I can become more creative
I share my creative ideas
I have learned and can identify and use strategies that promote my creativity.

To

I deliberately learn a lot about something; e.g., by doing research, talking to others, so that I am able to generate creative ideas about it.
I deliberately contribute and share my creative ideas which may be innovative
I have begun to manipulate my environment to promote creative thought

To

I consciously generate creative ideas with a clear understanding of the process involved
I deliberately share creative ideas for collaboration knowing they are innovative
I consciously apply strategies to control the environment in which my creative ideas are generated.

But in a very messy, non-linear……creative way.

Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do. – Apple Inc.

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

