Day 51 (of 184) getting in trouble

Day 51 (of 184) getting in trouble

As in a classic movie Brad Pitt as Lt Aldo Raine says when he gets warned he’ll be in trouble (careful editing here on my part!) “More like chewed out. I’ve been chewed out before”.

That’s how I felt today when my kindy teacher glared at me. I didn’t even know what I did until I noticed that she had her neighbours media cart in her room (rolling cart with digital projector, DVD/VCR player, and speaker system). I had pillaged hers (which is stored in a different room) when our volunteers needed some carts for soup day….

I assumed (chose that word on purpose if you know the connection between ‘u’ and ‘me’) that as it was in the other room, she wasn’t using the system.

Well, I learned that she had been using it much more regularly in the last few weeks (thrilling me to see technology become ‘just another part’ of the learning experience – a tool – not something unique and rare).

I loved getting chewed out for touching she had set up ‘just right’ (ownership of the learner) and was using to support her students (personalization) in ways that met a wide range of needs.

But only when the tools are available when/as needed – like I promised they would be.

Can I blame soup day for this? Or at least can I say I learned a valuable lesson and won’t do it again?! Every day is a learning experience!

(And then I went and put (an accidentally left 5 sheets of) coloured paper into the ‘white only’ tray. Sigh.

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

