Day 46 (of 184) cursing cursive

Day 46 (of 184) Cursive

I take not-so-secret joy in listening to discussions about the use of cursive script. Most recently I heard the topic discussed on the radio.

The show hosts were discussing the roles and importance of typing vs cursive. Mainly focusing on how important typing has become in most workplaces yet once upon a time typing was a high school subject primarily dominate by females and now taught in ‘grammar’ school while cursive script seemed to ‘hardly if ever’ be taught.

I’ve proudly been the classroom where ‘cursive came to die’ – although the reality was that those who were good at cursive were/are welcome to continue to use it while others are encouraged to print or type.

This topic (subtly) came up at a recent edcamp I attended where I confessed my own beneficial experiences using a computer (shout out to the old Apple IIe that I kinda regret selling) where my typing was on par with everybody else’s for neatness and if anything I became much faster and started to re-enjoy he writing process.

I argue that printing, writing and typing are tools for communication and should be chosen and used as such – even as the debate around whether one style is better for learning than another – so long as the tool best allows student learning and knowledge to come through.

I like that the conversation on the radio identified cursive as a formal way to communicate – good for some occasions but certainly not all. I know (and appreciate) that others enjoy getting a written note from me more than a typed letter or email.

I also appreciate that my oldest daughter is encouraging her siblings to choose cursive script to ‘irritate dad’. Because if my cursive was as nice as theirs and came as easy to me as it did to them, I might not be the catalyst to change (essentially don’t use tools that don’t work for you) and support alternative methods of creating content to represent learning.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

