Day 41 (of 184) a child’s protest

Day 41 (of 184) a child’s protest

Sometimes when children rebel against their parents it is dangerous. Usually it’s just frustrating.

Today my oldest girl continued her rebellion against my teachings. She gloatingly told me that she was getting some praise at school for how neat her writing was.

‘Not just creative writing, dad, cursive writing’. Arrrgh.

She finally confessed to her teacher that while part of her does enjoy handwriting, it’s more enjoyable to her ‘that it frustrates dad’.

Sigh

I should mention that while I’m composing this blog she is doing some ‘extra’ homework.

My eldest purposely doing cursive script to complete homework.
Where did I go wrong?

I will still advocate for no homework (beyond the reinforcements of reading [for pleasure] writing [for fun] and math [that is recreational] to support key learning opportunities).

I will still support printing and typing for most (and cheer on those who have the innate skill to connect loops to form letters) while focusing more on synthesizing language arts.

And wonder which pathway my other two children will take in education and how all three will have a role in changing the face of education/learning as we know it:

My somewhat secret declaration is my belief that my oldest girl will make the teachers she world with feel very good about their skills as an educator. My son will make those same educators change everything they do and challenge them to think about why they do what they do. And my youngest will come through their wake and benefit from the works of her siblings as will all of her peers.

It’s an awesomazing time to be in education…!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

