Day 34 (of 184) building capacity

Day 34 (of 184) building capacity

Leadership capacity was the focus of my masters project once upon a time. It is because of the leadership that was entrusted/forced/encouraged/etc upon me as a classroom teacher that enabled me to become a school principal, and that modelling has become key to my ‘style’ as a principal. I like to help/persuade/support/etc the members of my learning community to share their leadership within their classrooms to the whole school (and potentially beyond.

Building capacity is far more than ‘just’ serving as an occasional Teacher In Charge (though it can help) but it’s being able to ‘step up’ without being asked. I try to backfill during these opportunities – if a teacher has a chance for a ‘learnable moment’, either with another teacher, a parent, a student, or another member of the learning community but it’s during their ______ (recess supervision, bus duty, lunch club, etc) I offer to cover for the ‘more valuable’ time to shine.

Likewise when a teacher has an idea, I am trying to model (what I learned) a culture of ‘yes, now how do we…’
I try to avoid ‘no’ unless there is a precedent that overrides it. But that doesn’t happen often. I love cross-country skiing club, and volleyball, and choir, and percussion club, and Lego club – and these are great opportunities for teachers, students, and the entire learning community to model lead-learning.

After all, leading without learning in an educational environment is like a broken pencil. Pointless.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

