Day 33 (of 184) communicating within a learning community

Day 33 (of 184) communication

While I was creating my weekly video podcast for our school website (www.sor.sd83.bc.ca) I was reflecting on the evolution of school communications.

Newsletters (aka Pandora’s box)
Some like the 20 page novelettes full of info and pics. I like a one page ‘highlight version’ that directs people to the virtual world! In part I was inspired by a couple schools where newsletters were largely ignored. Now they are a special occasion – kinda like the role reversal of mail/email where once the mailbox was full and email was a novelty and now my email box fills up and it’s neat when something is actually in the mailbox!

Podcasts/videos
For the past three years I have been doing weekly ‘week at a glance’ videos – highlighting what’s coming up and sometimes showing pictures of what has happened – though I’ve not been doing that as often since I try to tweet some items through the day – and for almost a decade I’ve been doing ‘month-in-review’ reflection videos. Capturing moving images is a great way to show what happens in and around schools – as I like to point out to parents when they attend assemblies, when kids say they did nothing at school, they lied.
But the video media has been a great way to show off the school and for the learning community to see me (an to see that I don’t have two heads and rarely breathe fire).

Twitter:
Love this. Know my dad woulda loved its power/potential too. My school twitter (@sorrento83) doesn’t have all of our learning community connected to it yet – but I’m hopeful!

Phone calls / texts / emails oh my!
I like making phone calls and try to make two positive calls for every negative one. But I love texting. Became a quick advocate when my principal partner an I were able to communicate asynchronously – quick communication and when important, a call would be returned. Emails of course, while slower, are still great ways to stay in touch – and I’ve made great use of email to send work home, to communicate with multiple people etc. but it won’t surprise me when texting takes over – once you can text a keynote presentation….or a video….or the school growth plan which is a movie because more of our stakeholders will watch a 5 minute video than read a 12 page document.

Education is changing and the way we communicate with our learning community needs to as well! You know, like a blog…!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

