Day 29 (of 184) I need to read!

Day 29 (of 184) I need to READ!

The other day I saw a tweet from @NADSP asking: Hey, principals (maybe #satchat folks), what’s the last awesome education book you’ve read recently?

I was initially happy that I had read some of the first couple and was familiar with most of the others. Then I remembered the small pile of books on my desk and my bigger virtual pile of books on my iBooks app that I need to get back to.

I have plenty of excuses – lots of great reading via twitter.
Long days at school as a principal followed by afternoons coaching on the football field and trying to squeeze in some quality daddy time.

But I’ve got to remember (as peeking at the books suggested by other educators) how inspiration can leap from the pages and enter the classroom.

The Element, Drive, iWoz, and even Happy Happy Happy all spoke to me recently about the importance of:
A) following your passion
B) finding your passion
And
C) helping others discover their passions

And these books have solidified my approach of introducing them to Genius Hour – an opportunity to explore, learn and become a genius on any topic they choose b

Beyond The Hole in The Wall and Beyond Dangerism led me to then path of students leading their learning which we are doing through SOLES (Self Organized Learning Environments).

Finnish Lessons and others including Outliers and Mindset have led me to looking at making new connections…such as using a throwaway line in Dr Who where the good Doctor asked (after solving a very tricky pattern to solve a problem) “Don’t they teach Recreational Mathematics any more?”
I’m not sure who else has, but I’ve made it a secret mission to encourage my students to see the beauty of, and develop a love for, math (and not just thinking its about numbers).

But those were months ago. I got make some time to do some more reading to keep getting inspired to be a valuable part of my learning community!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

