Day 28 (of 184) 2234

Day 28 (of 184) 2234

2234 is how many steps my pedometer said I took.

Stupid Physical Literacy pilot project in our district has my partner teacher having all of us in our classroom wearing pedometers to see how many steps, as an average, we take in a school day.

I cheekily asked if we were doing the mean, median, or mode average (I think I have a talking point for tomorrow’s Recreational Mathematics!).

I thought my number would’ve been higher, but ‘the day’ got in the way. A bit of counselling and phone calls interrupted what should’ve been some fun classroom visits.

2234.

Vs the ‘average’ (not sure which M avg) male who takes 7193 steps per day (and I’m wondering how many steps might be added to this total if I blend coaching football tonight)

Vs the average female who takes 5210 steps.

One web site says to get health benefits, generally a person needs to add 2000-3000 more steps to what they are currently doing. So, as a learning community we are going to fugues out how much that will be. Especially since the web says that people generally do more walking on work day than on weekends (an with the lure of NFL Sundays, I believe it!)

2234.

It’s a start as we all take some time to think about our health and how we can make our ‘daily grind’ work for us.

Gotta be an app for that…

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

