Day 24 (of 184) how and why I do my recognition assembly

Day 24 (of 184) how and why I do my recognition assembly

I use keynote to keep me organized – and I have found it very editable and easy to include multimedia. I also now exclusively am using an iPad mini having passed on the ipad2 I was using to another teacher. I am still waiting for our wifi to be installed so I can use an Apple TV, so in the meantime I am connected via hdmi.

Opening – I try to have an interesting picture along with a title. Today to tie in to the ‘September in Review’ title, I included a photo of myself with Spencer West – an inspiring person who is always a welcome guest in our school district.

We then go into O Canada, and if try to find an interesting picture online of the Maple Leaf or the flag in an unexpected format – today the word Canada was coloured in the design of the flag. I find this a nice compliment to the flags of Canada and BC which are on our gym wall (albeit on the wrong side of each other…though I guess that depends on how the assembled students are seated…)

We then look at the month ahead – detailing specific days (such as thanksgiving ) upcoming pro-d days and neat events such as the SD 83 Me to We leadership team coming to make a presentation!

That is followed up by a review of our school goals and our developing code of conduct which one of our itinerant teachers described as nice and relaxed, thankfully since we are focused on introducing technology and being better at self-regulation.

Then we take a movement break – our Interior Health liaison shared a couple of good videos at our principal meeting last night and I put one right away to test it out. I think it went well since at recess every teacher asked me to put some onto their iPads so they can do them in their classroom!

We then acknowledge and so. Happy birthday to the kids who had their birthdays in September and those about to have one in October. It’s a lot of fun when I try to incorporate all 15-25 names in the song (ruins the rhythm but gets good laughs).

Then (as always for the past 10 years) we watch our video ‘month-in-review’ where we see all the neat things that occur in our school (and in some cases outside of the school). It is always a fun way to stop and reflect on what has happened in the past weeks, because as I tell the parents when we see them at PAC meetings, when the kids say they odd nothing at school, they lied!

It is a great way to start the month. Always opportunities for teachers to add their pieces in: music performances, special recognitions etc that have a special part in our learning community. And it happens on the first Friday of every month!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

