Day 11 (of 184) texting helping with administrivia

Day 11 (of 184) love my cell

I really appreciated my cell phone today. I was really stretched thin at times but found that the ability to text came in handy several times:

– in the morning I got a head up from a parent that her son was coming in with a cracked kneecap and crutches. I was able to preplan a few things for his mobility around the classroom.

– I noticed that one student was looking unsettled an might need to visit our self-regulation (anti-anxiety – still working on the name) room to get his morning settled, so I texted his teacher and gave her the heads up. In turn she prepped her morning a little differently and was able to keep him on-task and engaged to start his day.

– when a teacher was taking her class to the library (upstairs) with a youngster in a wheel chair, she gave a quick text and I was able to meet her class at the stairs with the key to the wheelchair lift.

– I was also able to share some pictures of our model self regulation classroom with another principal who is thinking about encouraging her staff to visit on an upcoming professional development day.

I do love the asynchronous nature of texting (and similarly twitter) where I can quickly and discreetly respond to ‘calls’ for support, intervention, or inquiry that wouldn’t happen if it was a phone call and a voice mail. I get back to those, but not as easily/quickly as what a short text will allow. And a quick glance at the message screen lets me know if I need to deal with something immediately or if I can continue building relationships around the schoolyard!

Now to get more of my staff using twitter as an adjunct to texting (personal growth plan goal! And successfully done by one teacher who has her class posting & identifying what 140 characters means)

Oops now I gotta go – got a message I need to respond to!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

