Day 8 (of 184) the implementation dip

Day 8 (of 184) – trying new things

I had a great twitter conversation last night about implementing new things. A teacher was worried about some procrastination going on during ‘genius hour’. I shared my previous experiences where I too saw (and was worried) about some students ‘wasting their time’ … And how I have since shifted my thinking to ‘being patient’. If I am wanting my students to explore their passions and be creative, I need to give them time … and regular descriptive feedback – in part to ensure that they aren’t ‘stuck’ (anxious), taking on an overwhelming task (as one student did when they tried to stop everyone in the world from using oil) or unsure what to do/what is expected.

I also shared that I regularly remind myself about the ‘implementation dip’ – essentially when you try/start something new, things go wrong and you do ‘worse’ before things take off and do ‘better’.

And then I thought that while I remind many of the adults in our learning community about that, I’m not sure that I’m doing a good job explaining/sharing/talking about it with my students.

Sigh.

As sometimes happens, I am going to stop. Do a check in with the class (part of our feedback loop) and do some work on ‘what happens’ when people try new things.

The nice thing is that I have a great example in my school with a teacher working with her laptop and projector to model and do some of her math program – for the first time for her and our school. Nerves and mistakes are there, but so is optimism and replanning – no giving up, instead the reminder that ‘failing/mistakes/etc’ are part of the learning and growing process!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

