Summer of learning: Innovation secrets of Steve Jobs

My ‘summer of learning’ book tour brought me into a book by Carmine Gallo – the innovation secrets of Steve Jobs. As one of my foci this year has been on creativity, and another is on introducing technology to my learning community, I was very interested in the key components to be ‘innovative’.

The 7 Principles of innovation are:

1. Do what you love – think differently about your career –> I strongly believe that there has to be a passion to be an educator – that its not enough to ‘do a job’ – I believe it’s most ‘fun’ when you end the day exhausted and can’t wait until the next day.

2. Put a dent in the universe – think differently about your vision –> I know I want to make a difference as an educator working with diverse learning communities – but to encapsulate it in under 140 characters? To have students do something, even when they don’t know what to do.

3. Kick start your brain – think differently about how you think –> I constantly push for people to consider their intention – to think about what why and how a lesson will make a difference to their learners (and not just to generate numbers for a tally)

4. Sell dreams, not products – think differently about your customers –> or students. School needs to be a place where anything is possible – where students acquire key basic skills and turn them into products that are much more than the sums of the parts.

5. Say no to 1000 things – think differently about design –> I am proud of what I teach, and am becoming more proud of what I don’t teach.

6. Create insanely great experiences – think differently about your brand experience –> I make no apologies that when I go o a school, my intention is to make it the crown jewel in the district – THE place where everyone wants to be.

7. Master the message – think differently about your story –> I try to be very open – especially about why I am so passionate about engaging my students to work on anxiety and introducing technology into the learning community

Some thought provoking pieces in this book – easy to read and very good if you believe in Jobs point of view that creativity is all about making connections. Education cannot be done in isolation but changes need to continue. If Ford asked his consumers what they wanted he would have been told faster horses – apple didn’t do focus groups for similar reasons – and educators need to do a good job communicating & educating all members of the learning community about why the schools today’s children are coming in to are/need to be/ will be DIFFERENT from the school experience of the past – but with the support of the larger learning community.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

