Time warp

Time time time. Time can be fleeting. Sometimes it feels like I’m in a time warp again.
Recently my staff took a step to the left and pushed themselves to explore some of the non-wifi capabilities of the iPads that have made their way to our school. Students are using ten for a variety of assignments and as part of a ‘learning through play’ exploration piece. The adults are documents g what the kids are doing, enabling more immediate reflection and by using them as document cameras allowing immediate feedback on their work. Seeking a balance between consuming and creating content.
Then we took a step to the right and created a video showing how one o our non-tech-savvy teachers stopped worrying and learned how to love the iPad. The video will be shared at a district ‘tech directions get together’ where admins and teachers will be chatting about where we are and where the district needs to go.
I put my hands on my hips this week an watched my students personalize the writing of a standardized test (my BC colleagues will bring their knees in tight as they know what in talking about) by having some write in pen, others on the computer; some in the library some in the hallway. It was very neat to see my students use strategies that have led them to be successful and take some ownership in how they would complete the task – same as they do to the tasks we create together!
But what drives me insane is that I haven’t been blogging nearly as much as I have intended. Hopefully I’ll encounters time-warp – no – I will take ownership myself and better personalize when and where I will do my work. Just takes a mind flip…

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

