iPads day 30 – crossing generations

Truly a roller coaster of positive emotions today as I was able to see and reflect on how technology can make a difference in learning.

🙂 happy face for using iPads and an old iBook to pull together our Christmas concert: almost half the play is on video so that some of our shyer students could confidently take part in prominent roles.

🙂 another happy face was when I came home and found my son talking on FaceTime with one of his friends from the community we recently moved away from. Even though we are 8 hours away, they are still able to keep in touch and its neat seeing a couple of 10 year olds find ways to maintain a friendship.

😉 a sentimental happy face was when I got my birthday card from my mom. She included two pictures from my dad teaching almost a quarter of a century ago (he passed away in 1990) and both pictures set the tone for my vision: he’s got a bunch of students around him and his Macintosh Classic showing a HyperCard stack he created to support the learning in his classroom. He was an advocate of bringing technology into schools (and homes) as a way to enhance learning. As a student, I great benefited from his visions in The Lillooet School District (now SD 74) as the various technology initiatives helped me in all areas of my learning.
My father took on many battles over his decisions to bring in ‘toys’ to the school and facing arguments that he was ‘following a fad’.
I look forward to continuing to trying to be an ‘early adopter’ of technologies that will help my children learn – both at school and at home; because learning does not follow bell schedules and only happen in some buildings.
After all, who knows what my children will be pushing for in education in another 25 years!!

20121219-205151.jpg

20121219-205202.jpg

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

