iPads day 26 – multi tool

Sometimes it’s neat just to see how many functions the iPads really have. Today we had a guest presenter working with the whole school and when she arrived she realized that she had not asked me if I had any stopwatches. I couldn’t find any. My secretary has one for fire drills, but we needed seven.
iPads to the rescue!
I know. It’s not anything magical, but it had me thinking of the variety of ‘simple tools’ that the device has/can replace with apps:

Stopwatch (in clock app)
Document camera (camera)
Digital camera (camera)
Whiteboard (app)
Student selector (‘magic hat’ app had replaced my ‘Popsicle sticks’)
Word processor (pages)
Presentations (keynote)
Music instruments (GarageBand)
Movie editor (iMovie)
Journal (myjournal app)
Calculator (app)

Those are the ‘regularly used’ tools at least. And of course many more for other needs.

Including when I set my phone down, the ‘Find iPhone’ app that let me lock it until I went back to the office. And again when i got home the same app helped my son find his iPod Touch that he count find.

I believe that these tablets are going to be very disruptive to education – in a similar way that the photocopier, microwave, VHS/DVD, and desktop/laptop computer once disrupted education and have since been seen as ‘essential parts’ of the school environment!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

