iPad day 15 – engaging the teachers

Busy day – using technology to meet some new teachers (not on the iPad as we don’t have wifi yet) and helping a teacher create a twitter account so that she can share what is happening in her classroom.
Then it was time to go to a district meeting where the direction of technology was being discussed. I shared a piece of my vision of technology in education (technologization) through a video: http://vimeo.com/54000084
I was happy that we got to discuss ‘how to engage teachers a) in using tech themselves and b) in figuring out how to support student use.

I was also happy that our schools plan of ‘getting the tech into classrooms’ was supported – and that the idea of ‘the right tool’ trumped ‘one standard device’

We chose iPads as an entry device. My pledge is that if my staff identifies a tool that they will work better with, I will support them to the best of my abilities.

I hope that this mindset will spread through the learning community so that if/when students ‘bring their own device’ they will do the same.
Based on what I hear from my staff, our plan for the ‘gradual release of responsibility’ is well under way: engagement/interest is going up, as is self-directed learning and problem solving.

Technologization. Technology personalizing education. For students and teachers.

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

