iPads day 10

Today I had the opportunity to talk to some teacher candidates from UVic about what (and why) I (and my learning community) are making a paradigm leap from a computer lab with desktop devices to a more mobile platform (and skipping the more traditional evolution of moving into laptops.

In talking with our staff, I strongly believe our learning community is ready to embrace the post-pc era. My teachers and education assistants see value in portable, personalized technology as a way to adapt/support/encourage/motivate etc out learners.

Their own imagination and willingness to learn (with minimal in-service) has surpassed my hopes. If the adults understand how to embrace learning-through-play and using strategies to ‘do something when they don’t know what to do’ – two key pieces to what I call ‘technologization’ – the seamless integration of technology and education.

iPads are truly making the world of tech much more accessible to my entire staff (covering 3 generations). As their fear melts, their curiosity is increasing (same goal I have for my learners) and they are challenging me to find ways to ‘help’ them. I am amazed at how these touch tablets are helping my staff rethink how technology can help their classes; help their students!

And a big thanks to the twitterverse and colleagues who are finding and sending some great resources – which I will share in the next blog leading into the weekend!!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

