iPads day 6

Today started with one of our iPad users cursing the device (and me) because she hasn’t been able to get to bed before 11:30 in days. When I offered to take it back, I was told where I could go, with some options on how to get there – she still wants to use it. She was more concerned over how time seemed to speed up when she was exploring it.

In the classroom I used the iPad to share out a keynote presentation on Maps. Students liked the format; I liked the ease of putting it together. I also like that I will be able to archive the presentation (at http://www.sor.sd83.bc.ca – linking on “Mr. Landys Class) so that the couple of students who were away can keep up and follow along asynchronously (one of my key ‘pushes’ for technologist ion and 21st Century education skills)

At my afternoon ‘training session’ there was an emphasis on keeping a journal – this prompted me to explore 3 journal/diaries from the App Store. I found one that I like in that first three (I won’t say which one as all three wired/responded differently and will connect with users differently). I have already started to use it as a way (as principal) to record and document events.

It was a short day, but still the tech lived up to my expectations:
a) professional conversations – including a desire to try an ebook (new mini-goal)
b) teacher-student interaction – keynote + ultra short throw = engaged class (admittedly it may be because its new)
c) continued exploration into how the device can be an even more useful ‘tool’ – journal app; App Store & Internet (with wifi) enabling ‘as needed’ resources.

Tomorrow: lunch time mini-lesson on using keynote to store and share photos (entry level but a good start to a mind shift from just ‘consuming’ others work to seeing how to ‘create content’.

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

