Pondering education in the future

The quote of the week that really has me thinking: “digital education today is where digital music was in 2001”.
It’s led me to some interesting questions and thoughts:

I remember my mom thinking she would never lose her CD collection in 2001; in 2012 her music is on her kindle for in the house and iPod for in the car.

Who is educations Sean Parker (napster)
Who is educations Steve Jobs (iTunes)
Who is educations Peter Sunde (pirates bay)

I remember being told I only wanted to use iPods (and then iPads) because they were the shiny new toy.
I remember my dad being criticized for bringing in computers (desktops in the early 80s) because they were a passing fad.
I remember my dad being criticized for bringing microwaves into Foods rooms because they were just a shiny new toy.

Who is educations Tower Records (didn’t see the shift)?
Who is educations Circuit City (tried but missed the shift)?
Who is educations Amazon (one of the leaders of the shift)?

I’ve been criticized in the past (some justified – like my 100′ Ethernet cable going from the lab to my classroom as a protest to get wifi) but my focus remains the same: I believe in using technology in ways that better personalize education to the learner; I want my children to be better connected to school than I was (and I was pretty connected) in a 24/7/365 education experience.

2nd generation of education troublemakers trying to lead by example. Music industry went through a roller coaster but came out responsive to the wants/needs of its audience. I expect education to be going through the same ride. Hands up!? or death grip on the handles?

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

