Impacts to education

As I’ve been working on my presentation at this years BCPVPA Connecting Leaders Conference, I’ve been giving extra thought to the changes to life that are affecting & effecting education.

My students are asking to bring in their iPods and laptops despite not having access to wifi (yet..!)
I thought my son was talking to himself and then found out that he was FaceTiming with one of his friends from our last neighbourhood.
I’ve connected with colleagues about sharing video links between classrooms – one of my good friends sisters whom I started teaching with in Lillooet and another twitter friend that I would know nothing about if not for social media.

Tip of the iceberg?

I believe that technology is now cheap enough and present-enough that how education happens is going through a renaissance. Networking between experts has never been easier (for some). Differentiation and personalization has never been more doable (for many) and resources have never been so plentiful (for those who look).

Viva l’education!!

More to come!

About technolandy

Principal of Sorrento Elementary Educator pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Piloting ePortfolios
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

