Goodbyes and hellos

Small world. For the second time this calendar year I have run into my students from small town Lumby in unexpected places.
Earlier this year I had one of my former grade 5 students in a Tim Hortons in 100 Mile House. She graduated this year and it was a fabulous chance to reconnect. Side note: Her mom started a career in teaching because of the good things going in in that school.
Today, on the ‘last day’ of school, another of my Lumby families ran into me – coming down the hallway of my school in Prince George to register their youngest (into grade 5!). I got to see the family coming into the school as I was preparing to move on to another school – and it brought out a lot of memories.
The most important of which was keeping in mind every student and family that I come in contact with. The world is small and it is stunningly easy to reconnect and find the ‘SIx Degrees of Landy’.
Oh yeah, one of the teachers in my new school (several hours from PG) is the sister of one of my favorite co-teachers. From Lumby.
It’s a great world to be an educator in!

About technolandy

Educator in BCs Sunny Shuswap Pushing 'technologization' in education: blending technology and curriculum seamlessly. Advocate for better understanding of Anxiety in Education (and use of self-regulation) Utilizing ePortfolios & Descriptive Feedback
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

